Monday, 22 February 2016

Indiana Jones Franchise

Indiana Jones Franchise

The Indiana Jones Franchise was very successful in the 1980's when the first three original films were released, this film series however is still just as popular today with many video games and merchandise still around. The films follow a professor who also doubles as being an archaeologist on his adventures to find hidden places and treasures. There are four films in this series, Raiders of the Lost Ark (1981), Temple of Doom (1984), The Last Crusade (1989) and then the later film Kingdom of the Crystal Skull (2008). 

Looking back on these films, it is clear to see some of the issues they might incorporate that were evident of the time period.

Women in these films were always shown as the damsels in distress and it would be Indiana's job to rescue them from the dangers that they most probably got themselves in. There are a few exceptions to this role with some women being shown as strong and brave but they are always the villains and are defeated by Indiana in the end. 

The Indiana Jones films show race to be very stereotypical, with people from the middle east and India as well as other areas being presented as completely different from Americans and having little in common. This shows the common view of the 1980's that America is unique and not completely accepting of other races. As well as this, there is also little representation of black people as the majority of the cast is white. 

Overall, the Indiana Jones franchise highlights some of the issues in America that were represented through the film industry during the 1980's, showing common views on race and gender that are completely different from the views most people hold today. 


No comments:

Post a Comment